Entering its 47th year, the John Deere Classic has become a staple of the PGA TOUR season, bringing professional golfing action to the Quad Cities area. The 2017 John Deere Classic is just around the corner, and this year, participants will be vying for their share of the $5.6 million purse (an event high).

John Deere Classic 2017

The winner of the event will receive $1 million and the final exemption to the Open Championship, which is one of golf’s four major tournaments. If you’re looking for more information about the 2017 John Deere Classic, you’re in the right place. Let’s take a look at this year’s dates, field, and more.

John Deere Classic 2017: Dates

Leading up to official tournament play, the week begins with a Pro-Am Pairings Party on Monday, July 10th, followed by a day of youth activities and professional practice rounds on Tuesday, July 11th. On Wednesday, July 12th, the pros will hit the course with amateurs for the Pro-Am event.

The official tournament start date is Thursday, July 13th, and final round play will be held on Sunday, July 16th.

John Deere Classic 2017: Field

Defending John Deere Classic champion, Ryan Moore, will surely have his hands full at the 2017 iteration, as he will be joined by a number of veterans, recent PGA TOUR event winners, and a healthy crop of young talent. John Deere Classic stalwarts Steve Stricker and Zach Johnson will once again be in the field, joined by other recently hot players, including:

  • Kevin Kisner (winner of the 2017 Dean & Deluca Invitational)
  • Si Woo Kim (winner of the 2017 Players Championship)
  • William McGirt (winner of the 2016 Memorial)
  • Danny Lee (winner of the 2015 Greenbrier Classic)

Former U.S. Amateur champions Kelly Kraft and Bryson DeChambeau will also be in the field, with another young talent in C.T. Pan. Dylan Meyer and Nick Hardy also qualified to participate on sponsor exemptions, each representing the local University of Illinois.

John Deere Classic tournament director Clair Peterson, says about the field, “The John Deere Classic is very pleased with the way the field has been shaping up so far. At this time of year, many players make their decisions closer to tournament week.”

John Deere Classic Past Winners

Looking back at the past decade of John Deere Classic champions, the list is loaded with players that have had very successful professional careers, including Jordan Spieth, Steve Stricker, Zach Johnson, Kenny Perry, Ryan Moore, Brian Harman, and Jonathan Byrd.

Other notable champions include Dave Stockton, Roger Maltbie, Payne Stewart, and David Toms.

Final Thoughts

As always, tournament spectators will be able to view a variety of John Deere machines up close that will be scattered across the property.

If you enjoyed this post or want to read others, feel free to connect with us on Facebook, or Twitter!

You might also like: